Have Less

 ‘look at all those fancy clothes, but these will keep us warm just like those.’

Jack Johnson

so, minimalism.

I recently came across (a late comer to the party, no doubt) The Minimalists and found this list. I thought I’d go through it step by step. For context, we’ll be moving in about 2.5 months but nothing confirmed. It’s our furthest move yet, and we’re considering actually hiring some outside help this time!

Go read the original, then come back; 7 Ways to Sample Living With Less

// clothes.

I’m not great on this one. I don’t have tonnes of clothes, or it feels that way as we have a lot of storage in this house and I could definitely have fewer. The trouble is, I really do go back and realise that something I love just slipped off the hangar. It’s cyclical. You know? Pretty much everything fits me, and I like it. So that’s ok for now. When we finalise our housemove I’ll go through it all again, as I’ve done each time, and donate a chunk. I don’t find choosing to be stressful and have a nice at the moment of jeans, shorts of leggings with an array of pretty tops, cardigans and jumpers. That’s just called getting dressed isn’t it.. But! I have way too many coats. So many coats.

// decorations.

we don’t have that many random decorations, as I try to only bring in things that are beautiful or useful. That old chesnut. Anyway, I did discover the other day that Boyfriend thought a drawing I have was done my sister as opposed to a famous illustrator! All the rest are related to us and our lives together. A set of mini bunting from each anniversary, a canvas photo print from the mini adventure, a vintage tin plate advert of the London-Edinburgh line which we took a thousand times at the beginning of our relationship (we covered 10,000 miles in 6 months visiting each other). You get the idea.

// toys.

.. not a problem we currently suffer from. I plan to be pretty strict on this though- I know that the best toys are not toys at all.

// cooking utensils.

good idea. I might stow away a few. We definitely don’t need a potato masher as I’ve only used it once and found it inconvinient. Guess we could use some improvement here. We have a lot of spare stuff in the copious storage in our bedroom.

// televisions.

we haven’t even plugged it in since we moved here, and cancelled our tv license over a year ago. We still have the screen however, which I’m planning on selling shortly. However- I think the point of this was fewer screens, which we could definitely benefit from. I have a laptop, a tablet/convertible, and a iPhone. He has a laptop, an old laptop, a broken iPhone, and a PC that he never uses but it’s special to him. We also have two spare phones in our tech box. This needs to change.

// counter-tops.

I try to keep our surfaces fairly clear. However I do find that my eating habits benefit from being able to see my healthy options, and I have a glass jar collection to match. It’s arrange by height though, and is very pleasing.

// furniture.

we could probably get rid of some stuff but our place is big- so it works for now. Next place, probably some stuff needs to go.

so on the whole, this has highlighted a few areas to address. Kitchen utensils and making a list of things to sell..

their whole site, by the way, is excellent; go have a look at their inspiring pieces.

3 comments

  1. Wonderful web site. Lots of useful info here. I’m sending it
    to a few buddies ans additionally sharing in delicious.

    And naturally, thanks to your sweat!

  2. I like this post! I recently just learned about The Minimalists, and have been doing further research to live a minimal lifestyle [in all aspects].. They’re a great inspiration to a lot of people. To kickstart my wardrobe, I will be participating in Project 333 starting on Oct. You’ve probably heard of the idea, but if you’ve haven’t, I think you’ll enjoy it! I’ve cleaned out my kitchen, and my livingroom [struggling with my books. I have a lot of them]. I am working on my room now [more books haha]. It’s definitely a huge challenge, but I appreciate the mental clarity that it offers. It’s worth it, and I’m glad that I ran into your post. They inspired me to start blogging about my transition to minimalism, and wellness, health and fitness lifestyle. You’ve gained a follower! :)

make my day- leave a comment

